Oregon Department of Education
News Home News Announcements Announcements
11/5/2012 11:56:00 AM
51st Annual United States Senate Youth Scholarship Semi-Finalists

The Oregon Department of Education is pleased to announce that the following students have been selected as the semi-finalists in the United States Senate Youth Program:

Julia Collins of Oregon City High School

Benjamin Jason Barnes of Oakland High School

Lindsay Nicole Overhage of Westview High School

Dylan Tingley of Ulysses S. Grant High School

We have invited these semifinalists and their families to visit the Oregon Department of Education on November 8, 2012 to tour the Capitol grounds, visit with various elected officials, and participate in a brief question and answer session with our judges.

Thank you to all the students who have competed in this year’s United States Senate Youth Scholarship program. We are confident each student will go on to demonstrate their leadership abilities and strengthen their resolve to pursue careers in public service.

Immediately following the visit on November 8, 2012, two finalists will be chosen as recipients of the $5,000 scholarship and will travel to Washington D.C. on March 9-16, 2013.

Visit the website for more information: http://www.ode.state.or.us/search/page/?id=1496.

If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact the staff below:
- end -

Contact Us

Oregon Department of Education
Voice: 503-947-5600
Fax: 503-378-5156
255 Capitol Street NE
Salem, OR 97310-0203

Helpful Resources

ODE Accessibility Statement

Career Opportunities

Educator Effectiveness

School Report Cards

State Board

Site Map

About Oregon


State Directories

Agencies Listing


Privacy Policy

Supported Browsers