Oregon Department of Education
News Home News Announcements Announcements

News Releases For immediate release
Crystal Greene, 503-947-5650

June 2, 2011

Oregon Grads to Receive $440,000 in Scholarships Through ECMC Scholars Program

PORTLAND- In a press conference at the Centennial Learning Center this morning, State Schools Superintendent Susan Castillo announced that 74 graduating Oregon ECMC Scholars will receive a total of $440,000 in college scholarships thanks to the generosity of the ECMC Foundation. The ECMC Scholars Program, sponsored by ECMC Foundation, was established to help students realize their potential, graduate from high school, and go on to college.

“This program does something very special,” said Superintendent Susan Castillo. “The ECMC Scholars Program selects students who have what it takes to succeed but may not have had the best grades and might need additional support to graduate and enter higher education. Many of these kids are the first in their families to go on to college and many have faced challenges outside of school that have made it harder for them to pursue their dreams. This program provides much more than money for college; it provides kids with the mentoring and support to help them get there. I want to thank the ECMC Foundation for their ongoing support of Oregon students.”

Students who successfully complete the program earn $4,000 toward their first year of college and are eligible to receive $2,000 for their second year. To date, ECMC Foundation has pledged more than $9 million to the ECMC Scholars Program, which operates in Virginia and Connecticut in addition to Oregon. This is the fourth year the ECMC Scholars program has awarded scholarships to graduating Oregon seniors and the program is funded through the graduating class of 2013.

In partnership with the Oregon Department of Education, ECMC Foundation works with eight public high schools across the state to offer the ECMC Scholars Program. Every year, committees of teachers, guidance counselors, and other educators from these schools choose sophomores to participate in the program during their junior and senior years. Candidates are invited to participate in the program based on student potential and the likelihood to benefit from the program’s additional mentoring and support.

“ECMC has given me the experience of touring various universities, college placement preparation, and the chance to take a college survival course,” said Centennial Learning Center senior and ECMC Scholar Roxi Spain. “ECMC allowed me to plan for college knowing that I had money to start off with. I graduate on June 6th and plan to attend PCC in the veterinary technology program. My dream is to work as a veterinary technician in Portland and eventually start my career as a veterinarian."

Below is a complete listing of this year’s Oregon ECMC graduates by school:

Centennial Learning Center, Centennial School District:
Brittany Barbour
Kortney Barbour
Michelle Brayson
Laura Bynum
Cariann Crase
Jessica Gil-Marin
Rosa Hernandez
Krystal Schlecter
Roxi Spain
Ethan Wilson

Illinois Valley High School, Three Rivers/Josephine County School District:
Matthew Coultas
Taylor Degiulio
Nicholas Dowd
Rachel Gibson
Bethke Jesse
Hailee Parker
Laurissa Tausaga
Cassandra Thurman
Ashley Webb
Christopher Wright

La Pine High School, Bend-La Pine School District:
Kimmi Dixson
Jon Ebner
Benjamin Ewing
Samuel Galli
Meagan McReynolds
Carmen Pierce
Lauren Stidham
Kaneesha Willer
Dallas Wilson

Madison High School, Portland Public Schools:
Umulkher Abdullahi
Devin Cloud
Mabel Dieguez
Anthony Jackson Jr.
Ashley Navarro Lopez
Annie Nguyen
Gabriella Tran
Angelo Tupper

Milwaukie High School, North Clackamas School District:
Guillermo Calvillo-Ruelas
Lilia Franchuk
Roselia Gonzalez
Caitlyn Hazlett
Kathryn Leonard
Esli Madrigal
Ignacio Rios-Bustos
Ana Rosa Sanchez-Herrera
Travis Sigler
Faina Tchebotareva

Pendleton High School, Pendleton School District:
Cody Boyer
Alicia Burgos
Genesis Cortez-Zurita
Dominic Darwin
Torie Gonzalez
Morgan Johnson
Daniel Kobzeff
Marker Shelby
Breanna Walker

Willamette High School, Eugene School District:
Jorge Contreras
David Cornie
Johnny Felix
Fernando Matinez Uranda
Alexander Recinos
Joshua Rhea
David Ruiz Maya
Heather Ulibarri-Devaul

Woodburn High School, Woodburn School District:
Alelie Jasmin Alejandro
Debbie Cabrales
Jeanette Camacho Alvirde
Dulce Chavez
Jaime Estevez
Mayra Ortiz-Loeza
Ariana Paniagua
Alejandra Plantillas
Aldo Alan Solano Mendez
Obdulia Valle Ramirez

About ECMC Foundation
ECMC Foundation helps low-income, first-generation, college-bound students of all ages further their education goals. Through innovative outreach programs, ECMC Foundation conveys to students the importance of completing high school. The Foundation continues their mission by developing and distributing programs that focus on college access, retention, and success. ECMC Foundation partners with government agencies, educational institutions, and community organizations to make the dream of higher education a reality. For more information, visit www.ecmcfoundation.org. ECMC Foundation is funded by ECMC Group.

Susan Castillo, State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Susanne Smith, Communications Director, Telephone (503) 947-5637

Oregon Department of Education News Releases contain information that was originally released to the press as an official release.  Refer to each News Release for the details.

Contact Us

Oregon Department of Education
Voice: 503-947-5600
Fax: 503-378-5156
255 Capitol Street NE
Salem, OR 97310-0203

Helpful Resources

ODE Accessibility Statement

Career Opportunities

Educator Effectiveness

School Report Cards

State Board

Site Map

About Oregon


State Directories

Agencies Listing


Privacy Policy

Supported Browsers