Oregon Department of Education
News Home News Announcements Announcements

News Releases For immediate release
Susanne Smith, 503-947-5637

December 6, 2010

Two Students Named State Board of Education Student Advisors for 2010-11

SALEM – State Schools Superintendent Susan Castillo has named Stacy Adriano of Tualatin High School and Chris Henke of Redmond Proficiency Academy to serve as Student Advisors to the State Board of Education. This is the fifth year that the State Board has included high school students as Board Advisors.

“I am thrilled to have Stacy and Chris joining the Board meetings as Student Advisors,” said Superintendent Susan Castillo. “Having a student perspective at the table is incredibly valuable and keeps all of us focused on what our work is all about – students. Chris and Stacy are both outstanding young people and serve as an example of our students’ commitment to making the world a better place through public service.”

Both students are active members of Superintendent Castillo’s Youth Advisory Team (YAT) and are the team co-chairs this year. The co-chairs serve as facilitators and leaders at the YAT meetings, help plan and organize meetings, and assist in relaying the opinions and recommendations of the team to Superintendent Castillo.

Stacy Adriano is a senior at Tualatin High School this year. She assists as an academic interpreter for ELL students at the High School, helps with peer tutoring, and volunteers in kindergarten classes.

Chris Henke is a senior at Redmond Proficiency Academy where he is highly involved as a peer counselor. Chris works part time as a computer technician for a company in Redmond.

The Student Advisors to the State Board were selected from State Superintendent Susan Castillo’s Youth Advisory Team. They must be committed to attend Board meetings and special functions of the Board, participate in policy discussions, demonstrate leadership and a basic understanding of current education issues, and have a commitment to community involvement.

The Oregon Legislature created the State Board of Education in 1951 to oversee grades K-12 and all community colleges. Members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate for up to two four-year terms. Seven members are selected to represent the five congressional districts with two at-large members. Current Board members include Brenda Frank (Chair), Artemio Paz, Jr. (Vice-Chair), Leslie Shepherd (2nd Vice Chair), Duncan Wyse, Jerry Berger, Nikki Squire, and Samuel Henry. For more information on State Board members and advisors, please go to http://www.ode.state.or.us/search/page/?id=183.

Susan Castillo, State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Susanne Smith, Communications Director, Telephone (503) 947-5637

Oregon Department of Education News Releases contain information that was originally released to the press as an official release.  Refer to each News Release for the details.

Contact Us

Oregon Department of Education
Voice: 503-947-5600
Fax: 503-378-5156
255 Capitol Street NE
Salem, OR 97310-0203

Helpful Resources

ODE Accessibility Statement

Career Opportunities

Educator Effectiveness

School Report Cards

State Board

Site Map

About Oregon


State Directories

Agencies Listing


Privacy Policy

Supported Browsers