Oregon law defines "rule" as "any agency directive, standard, regulation or statement of general applicability that implements, interprets or prescribes law or policy, or policy, or describes the procedure or practice requirements of any agency." ORS 183.310(9).
Agencies may adopt, amend, repeal or renumber rules, permanently or temporarily (up to 180 days), using the procedures outlined in the
Oregon Attorney General's Administrative Law Manual.
The Administrative Rules Unit, Archives Division, Secretary of State assists agencies with the notification, filing and publication requirements of the administrative rules process. Every Administrative Rule uses the same numbering sequence of a 3 digit agency chapter number followed by a 3 digit division number and ending with a 4 digit rule number (000-000-0000).
The State Board of Education adopts rules that affect K-12 and community colleges. Changes to rules are posted on the Secretary of State's Administrative Rules web page approximately 30 days after adoption.
The Oregon Secretary of State's office compiles and publishes the entire series of Oregon Administrative Rules. The rules directly related to the operation of public schools and community colleges are contained in Chapter 581 of that series:
Oregon Administrative Rules for Education
State Board of Education Rules
Fair Dismissal Appeals Board Rules
Early Learning Council Rules
Youth Development Council Rules
Oregon Education Investment Board Rules
Teacher Standards and Practices Commission Rules
Looking for an Oregon Department of Education rule?
Proposed Rule Changes/Adoptions
Government & Legal Affairs - Government and Legal Affairs Manager
Office of the Deputy Superintendent - Executive Support Specialist
Having problems finding something?
Oregon Department of Education
255 Capitol Street NE Salem, OR 97310-0203
(503) 947-5600 | Fax: (503) 378-5156
General ODE Questions:
(e.g. accessibility, nondiscrimination) |
Copyright © 1998-2013 Oregon Department of Education