Oregon Department of Education
Fostering Equity and Excellence for Every Learner

ESSA Work Groups

The Oregon Department of Education (ODE) launched a comprehensive and collaborative effort to develop Oregon’s State Plan for the implementation of the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), the newly reauthorized Elementary and Secondary Education Act.

From April through June 2016, the ODE brought together four central work groups to help inform the development and implementation of Oregon’s State Plan in four key areas: Standards and Assessment, Accountability, School and District Improvement, and Educator Effectiveness. Work group members were selected through an application process. For more information on each work group, visit the pages below.

Accountability WG Educator Effectiveness WG School and District Improvement WG Standards and Assessment WG

ESSA Joint Work Group Meetings

General Session Presentations, Materials, and Handouts

Community Forum Themes Summary

We want to hear from you!

Please share your suggestions or send questions to: ESSA.Oregon@state.or.us eMail.

  • Theresa Richards Email    (503) 947-5922
    Teaching, Learning and Assessment - Interim Assistant Superintendent
  • Emily Swope Email    (503) 947-5642
    Federal Systems - Administrative Specialist
  • Stacie Ankrum Email    (503) 947-5633
    Federal Systems - Office Specialist