Oregon Department of Education
Teacher and students

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST)

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) is the highest award a kindergarten - 12th grade mathematics or science teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. This award is given to outstanding mathematics and science teachers from each of the 50 states and four U.S. jurisdictions (Washington D.C.; Puerto Rico; Department of Defense Schools; and the U.S. territories as a group: American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands). These teachers will serve as models for their colleagues and will be leaders in the improvement of science and mathematics education.

As enacted by Congress in the 1983, the President makes up to 108 awards each year. Since then more than 3,000 teachers have been selected as Presidential Awardees. They represent a premier group of mathematics and science teachers who bring national and state standards to life in their classrooms. They provide the Nation with an impressive array of expertise to help improve teaching and learning while becoming more deeply involved in activities such as curriculum materials selection, research, and professional development. While most teachers remain in the classroom, some have become school principals, supervisors, superintendents, and college faculty.

Please support exemplary mathematics and science teaching by nominating a teacher for this award. The online nomination form is available at PAEMST website.

  • Jamie Rumage Email    (503) 947-6504
    Standards and Instructional Support - Education Program Specialist