Oregon Department of Education
Working Gears

News Announcements
Teacher of the Year Logo

Heather Anderson Named 2016 Oregon Teacher of the Year

Teacher of the Year
In a surprise assembly today, Heather Anderson, a fourth grade teacher from Juniper Elementary in the Bend-La Pine School District, was named Oregon’s 2016 Teacher of the Year. Oregon Deputy Superintendent Salam Noor was joined by Bend-La Pine Superintendent Shay Mikalson in honoring Heather for her leadership, high expectations, and commitment to Oregon’s students.

”Heather is an outstanding example of excellence in the profession,” said Deputy Superintendent Salam Noor. “Not only does she set high expectations for her students and herself, she is deeply committed to helping other educators learn and grow. Tenacious, dedicated, and a life-long learner, Heather is a true asset to her school and our state. It is an honor to recognize her as Oregon’s 2016 Teacher of the Year.”

A native Oregonian who comes from a family of educators, Heather began as a student teacher in Guadalajara, Mexico where she taught fifth grade and learned fluent Spanish. Before returning to teach in Bend, she spent five years at a struggling, high poverty elementary school in Maryland where she worked with others to close achievement gaps and improve student outcomes. These early formative experiences helped to shape Heather into an educator who firmly believes that all students – regardless of income, race, or language – can and will succeed if given the supports to do so.

Heather works tirelessly to support not only her students but also her fellow educators as a skilled teacher leader and advocate for the profession. She became a National Board Certified Teacher in 2005 and has served as a coach and teacher leader for her colleagues. Thanks to the hard work of Heather and her fellow teachers, Juniper Elementary was recognized by the state as a Model School, meaning it is in the top five percent of high-poverty schools state-wide in terms of student achievement and student learning. Heather seamlessly integrates the latest technology into her lessons to support student learning and builds a positive environment in her classroom that fosters student confidence, exploration, and risk-taking.

“I believe much of the success I have experienced in my career can be linked to two things: the high quality professional learning I participated in as a beginning teacher and the collaborative work I have done in Bend La-Pine Schools, both at the school level and at the district level,” Heather wrote in her Teacher of the Year application. “My greatest accomplishment in education is empowering children to become thriving lifelong learners.”

As Oregon Teacher of the Year, Heather will serve as a spokesperson and representative for all Oregon teachers and will attend the Washington Recognition Week for Teachers of the Year in Washington, D.C. in April where she will meet President Obama and the U.S. Secretary of Education. Heather will also receive a $5,000 cash award and will be featured in a commercial produced by the Oregon Lottery, which is partnering with the Department to support the Oregon Teacher of the Year program.

Click here PDF to access Heather Anderson's application.

Teacher of the Year in the News

About the Program:

Every year, each of the 50 states, five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions, the District of Columbia, and the Department of Defense Education Activity name a teacher of the year. The Oregon Teacher of the Year Program started in 1955 when elementary school teacher Margaret (Perry) Teufel of Monmouth Elementary School won the honor.

Candidates for Oregon Teacher of the Year should be exceptionally dedicated, knowledgeable, and skilled educators in grades preK-12 (administrative responsibilities should be of secondary consideration). The candidate should be planning to continue in an active teaching status.

In addition, candidates for Oregon Teacher of the Year should:
  • inspire students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn
  • have the respect and admiration of students, parents, and colleagues
  • play an active role in the community as well as in school
  • be a poised and articulate representative of all Oregon classroom teachers

Past Oregon Teacher of the Year Recipients
2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009
Michael Lindblad Brett Bigham Nanette Lehman Elena Garcia-Velasco Colleen Works Donna DuBois Michael Lampert
2008: Michael Geisen  |   2007: Jackie Cooke  |   2006: Alan Bruner  |   2005: Steven Wyborney  |  
2004: Catherine H. Thurber-Brown  |   2003: Carrie Carpenter   |   2002: Deborah White  |   2001: Norma Barber  |  
2000: Xochitl Fuhriman-Ebert   |   1999: Dave Bertholf   |   1998: Nicki Hudson

Related Pages

  • Jenni Knaus Email    (503) 947-5860
    Office of the Deputy Superintendent - Administrative Specialist