ODE Search
Private Career Schools
Menu see Private Career Schools Menu below News Subscribe to News Calendar

Private Career Schools - Cosmetology Schools

Private Career Schools

Cosmetology
This page contains information on Cosmetology Schools, Cosmetology Teachers, and Continuing Education.



Student Information

  • How to get Certified
    Information from the Board of Cosmetology on the certification process and what to expect after finishing cosmetology school.


Cosmetology School Licensure


The Cosmetology School license application packet which contains the materials necessary to file an application for approval to operate a private career school of barbering, hair design, esthetics, or nail technology in the State of Oregon can be found on the ODE web page Opening a Private Career School at http://www.ode.state.or.us/search/results/?id=83.



Cosmetology School Forms


  • Practical Examination Certification Forms
    These forms can be obtained by contacting the Private Career Schools Licensing Unit. See contact information below.


Cosmetology Teachers


Cosmetology teachers are required to renew their registration every 36 months. All teacher registrations share a common expiration date of July 31st. In May of each year, the Department searches its database to determine which teacher registrations will expire on July 31st of the current year. Information is then mailed to the address of record notifying teachers that their registration is due to expire and what must be done to renew the registration. Teachers are responsible for notifying the Department of address and name changes.

The renewal fee, a copy of a current Oregon practitioner's license, and proof of completion of 30 clock-hours of approved continuing education must be returned with the renewal application. Please note that applicants must have a valid practitioner's license in a specialty area (barbering, hair design, esthetics, or nail technology). Contact the Oregon Board of Cosmetology or the Oregon Health Licensing Agency for details on how to obtain a practitioner's license.



Natural Hair Care




Continuing Education


OAR 581-045-0200(23) requires cosmetology instructors to complete 30 clock hours every 36 months, of approved continuing education to maintain their instructors registration. The Private Career Schools (PCS) Licensing Unit approves courses for continuing education credit.

  • Approval Information PDF   02/04/2014 (147.22 KB)
    Please review this document before submitting your information to the PCS Unit.


Oregon Rules and Laws


Contacts
  • Peter Gertenrich Email    
    Operations, Fiscal & Data Management - Program Analyst, PCS
  • Karyn Chambers Email    
    Operations, Fiscal & Data Management - Ed. Specialist, PCS, Prvt. Schs, Home Schs

 Having problems finding something? start at ODE SEARCH Visual Preferences  |  Topic Contacts
ODE Sitemap  | News | Publications | Reports | Projects/Programs | Opportunities | Policy | Services Teaching/Learning
Web Policy (e.g. accessibility, nondiscrimination) | RSS | --HELP--


Copyright © 1998-2014 Oregon Department of Education