Oregon Department of Education
Students Search
News Home Calendar of Events Calendars News Announcements Announcements

News Releases For immediate release
Susanne Smith, (503) 947-5637

June 28, 2010

Oregon Students Awarded $480,000 in scholarships through the ECMC Scholars Program

SALEM- State Schools Superintendent Susan Castillo today announced that 72 graduating ECMC Oregon Scholars will receive $480,000 in scholarships for college thanks to the generosity of the ECMC Foundation.

The ECMC Scholars Program, sponsored by ECMC Foundation, was established to help students with potential but not necessarily the best grades prepare to graduate from high school and go on to some form of higher education.

To date, ECMC Foundation has pledged more than $7 million to the ECMC Scholars Program, which operates independently in both Virginia and Oregon.

Students who successfully complete the program earn $4,000 to pay for their first year of college and are eligible to receive $2,000 for their second year. This year’s ECMC Oregon Scholars include 72 graduating seniors.

In partnership with the Oregon Department of Education, ECMC Foundation works with eight public high schools throughout the state to execute the ECMC Scholars Program. Every year, committees of teachers, guidance counselors and other educators from these schools choose sophomores to participate in the program during their junior and senior years. Candidates are chosen based on which students show potential and are most likely to benefit from the additional mentoring and support provided through the program.

“In these economically challenging times, the ECMC Scholars Program is an incredible opportunity for Oregon students,” said State Superintendent of Public Instruction Susan Castillo. “It inspires our high school students to work hard and keep their eye on the prize of attending college after graduation. I am thankful for the vision and continued financial support of the ECMC Foundation.”

Below is a complete listing of Oregon’s ECMC Scholars and their participating schools:

Centennial Learning Center:
Jordan Hanley
Karmen Thompson
Phillip Ringer
Royauna Mitchell
Seth Olund
Taressa Wingfield
Tim Harber

Illinois Valley High School:
Alexander Dominguez
Alexandrea Brown
Brieana Baxman
Crystal Gasser
Jesakah Nelson-Webbe
Keyla Gilson
Sarah Parker
Sierra Pappas
Timothy Davis
Winona Krska

Madison High School:
Cindy Zhen
Conner Vilhauer
Keri Randklev
Kristina Brandt-Randklev
Rachael Rogers
Ricardo Jauregui
Serena Serna
Xavia Jones

Milwaukie High School:
Angelica Hernandez
Edson Emanuel Barrera
Emma Keltz
Lindsey Marie Record
Mario Miguel
Nakkita Warilow
Patrick L. Kindred
Summer Smith

Pendleton High School:
Anastasia Bryant
Brittany Lehrke
Chelsea Myrick
Devon Polhamos
Emilie Sykes
Gunner Nemechek
Isaiah Campbell
Kasandra Nunez-Thompson
Kelsi Wilson
Tyler Ball-Simpson
Vivana Toledano

Willamette High School:
Adam Shepherd
Anthony Cooper
Bradley Baker
Elvia Nava-Valdivia
Evelin Padilla
Israel Rivas
Jacob Corliss
Joanna Thurner
Juan Cortez
Melissa Linch
Shaelyn Kindle

Woodburn High School:
Brenda Solorzano
Esau Arredondo Arayo
Fabian Castaneda
Humberto Marquez
J Emigdio Serrano
Jessica Barajas
Juan Martinez
Laurie Tapia
Maira Rodriguez Estrada
Norma Mejia Cervantes

La Pine High School:
Casey Wright
Chrystal Bates
Connor Thill
Corey Ashburn
Kindi Irvin
Laura Jackson
Nick Pereira

About ECMC Foundation

ECMC Foundation helps low-income, first-generation, college-bound students of all ages further their education goals. Through innovative outreach programs, we convey to students the importance of completing high school, and we continue our mission by developing and distributing programs that focus on college access, retention and success. ECMC Foundation partners with government agencies, educational institutions and community organizations to make the dream of higher education a reality. For more information, visit www.ecmcfoundation.org. ECMC Foundation is funded by ECMC Group.

Susan Castillo, State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Morgan Allen, Interim Communications Director, Telephone (503) 947-5920

Oregon Department of Education News Releases contain information that was originally released to the press as an official release.  Refer to each News Release for the details.


Accessibility Notice
ODE Sitemap
Education Funding
Testing & Accountability
Resources for...
ODE Web Policy


Deputy Superintendent
Teaching and Learning
Student Services
Assessment and Accountability
Research and Analysis
Finance and Administration
Information Technology
Early Learning /Child Care
Youth Development

Strategic Priorities

Educator Effectiveness
Priority & Focus Schools
Equity: Closing the Achievement Gap
Common Core Standards & Assessments
Oregon Diploma
School Report Cards
Early Childhood
Student Wellness
State Board
Deputy Superintendent


Oregon Department of Education
255 Capitol Street NE
Salem, OR 97310-0203

​​​​Directions, Maps, Parking

Phone: 1 (503)-947-5600
Fax: 1 (503)-378-5156
ode.frontdesk@ode.state.or.us Email
Twitter: Twitter

Topic Contacts
ODE Staff
School Directory

About Oregon.gov

State Directories
Agencies A to Z
Privacy Policy

Visual Preferences