Oregon Department of Education
Students Search
News Home Calendar of Events Calendars News Announcements Announcements
10/28/2010 9:00:00 AM
PSU Professor Samuel Henry Joins State Board of Education

SALEM—State Schools Superintendent Susan Castillo announced today that Professor Samuel Henry of Troutdale has joined the State Board of Education. Henry was confirmed by the Oregon Senate last month to complete the term vacated by Lew Frederick of Portland. Dr. Henry’s term runs from October 1, 2010 through June 30, 2012.

“I entered the education professions believing that our educational institutions needed reform, a higher quality of leadership, and they needed to be dedicated to serving the needs of all citizens. Given my own experiences, I hope I can constructively add to this action,” said Dr. Henry.

Dr. Henry has been a faculty member at Portland State University since 1992. He is an associate professor of Curriculum and Instruction in the Graduate School of Education at PSU and recently served as the Graduate School of Education doctoral program coordinator.

“I look forward to working with Samuel Henry during this pivotal time for education in Oregon,” Superintendent Susan Castillo said. “His higher education experience and proven leadership add an important perspective to our efforts in preparing students for college and careers.”

Dr. Henry has an extensive education background dating back for 35 years. He previously held roles at San Jose State University as a university assistant vice president, associate dean, and program director, in addition to roles at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst and Columbia University. He also taught in public secondary schools in Washington D.C. and Binghamton, N.Y. and at Staten Island Community College.

Dr. Henry has served his community in a number of roles. From 2003 to 2009, he served as chairman of the Oregon Commission on Children and Families. He was an original member of the Children’s Investment Fund for the City of Portland and has served on the Multnomah County Commission on Children and Families and Communities.

“I am very pleased to see a man of Dr. Henry’s caliber named to the board,” said Board Chair Brenda Frank. “Education issues are complex, and I believe Dr. Henry’s breadth of experience will allow him to quickly understand the issues facing Oregon.”

The seven-member board sets educational policies and standards for Oregon's 197 public school districts, 17 community college districts, and 20 educational service districts. The State Board is appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the State Senate. Five members represent Oregon’s five congressional districts, and two members represent the state at large. Members serve a four-year term and are limited to two consecutive terms. Current Board members include Brenda Frank (Chair), Jerry Berger, Artemio Paz, Jr., Leslie Shepherd, Nikki Squire, and Duncan Wyse.
- end -
Related Topic(s):


Accessibility Notice
ODE Sitemap
Education Funding
Testing & Accountability
Resources for...
ODE Web Policy


Deputy Superintendent
Teaching and Learning
Student Services
Assessment and Accountability
Research and Analysis
Finance and Administration
Information Technology
Early Learning /Child Care
Youth Development

Strategic Priorities

Educator Effectiveness
Priority & Focus Schools
Equity: Closing the Achievement Gap
Common Core Standards & Assessments
Oregon Diploma
School Report Cards
Early Childhood
Student Wellness
State Board
Deputy Superintendent


Oregon Department of Education
255 Capitol Street NE
Salem, OR 97310-0203

​​​​Directions, Maps, Parking

Phone: 1 (503)-947-5600
Fax: 1 (503)-378-5156
ode.frontdesk@ode.state.or.us Email
Twitter: Twitter

Topic Contacts
ODE Staff
School Directory

About Oregon.gov

State Directories
Agencies A to Z
Privacy Policy

Visual Preferences